CLiPPA 2018 submissions open and chair and judges announced

CLiPPA submissions

Publishers are invited to submit books of children’s poetry published in 2017 for the CLiPPA (the Centre for Literacy in Primary Poetry Award)  2018. Established in 2003, the CLiPPA is the only award to recognise excellence in published poetry for children in the UK. It encourages and celebrates outstanding new children’s poetry and is presented annually for a book of poetry by a single poet or collection of children’s poetry published in the preceding year. The shortlist will be announced in May and the winner revealed at the CLiPPA 2018 Poetry Show in June in the 1,000-seater Olivier Theatre at the National Theatre, London in front of an audience of poets, publishers, teachers, and young readers from the Shadowing Scheme. 

The Chair of the CLiPPA  2018 Judging panel will be poet and first ever CLiPPA winner, Grace Nichols.

Grace is joined by a range of poetry experts who share a passion for poetry and its place in children’s developing literacy.

  • Anthony Anaxagorou - Poet and poetry educator. Founder of Out-Spoken Press
  • Charlotte Hacking - CLPE Learning Programme Leader
  • Imogen Lycett Green - Director of the Betjeman Poetry Prize for Young Poets
  • Kate Wakeling - Poet and CliPPA 2017 winner for Moon Juice

Full submission details for publishers

Get prepared for the Schools Shadowing Scheme by reading our newly updated ‘What We Know Works’ poetry booklet