CLiPPA (Centre for Literacy in Primary Poetry Award) for a book of poetry for children was launched in 2003 and is the only award for published poetry for children. CLiPPA highlights an important branch of children’s literature, ensuring that it receives proper recognition. The award is presented annually for a book of poetry published in the preceding year.

The Schools Shadowing Scheme

The Schools Shadowing Scheme runs alongside CLiPPA last year involved more than 6000 children from 196 schools. The 2018 scheme is now open and you can register your school here. The first five schools to register will receive a free set of the shortlisted books.

We produce teaching sequences for all shortlisted books and film the poets performing poetry. These resources will be made available to shadowing schools and we will then invite schools to send videos of children performing from the shortlist to [email protected]. Five winning groups will be picked to perform at the Awards Ceremony at the National Theatre on 22 June 2018

Find out more by reading our Shadowing Scheme Information and Advice for a Successful Performance using the links on the right. Videos of previous winners can be found below.

CLiPPA 2018 Chair and Judges

This year the Chair of the Judging panel will be poet and first ever CLiPPA winner, Grace Nichols.

Grace is joined by a range of poetry experts who share a passion for poetry and its place in children’s developing literacy.

Get prepared for the Schools Shadowing Scheme by reading our newly updated ‘What We Know Works’ poetry booklet and by reading the summary of our 2017 research project funded by Arts Council England.

CLiPPA 2017

The winner of the CLiPPA 2017 was Kate Wakeling for Moon Juice. The announcement was made at the finale of the Poetry Show at the Olivier, National Theatre on 14 July 2017 which featured performances from talented young poets from the five winning shadowing schools and performances from Kate Wakeling and two other CLiPPA 2017 shortlisted poets James Carter and Michaela Morgan. Booked by Kwame Alexander, published by Andersen Press, was highly commended.


Highfield Primary - Shadowing Winners - Booked by Kwame Alexander

Highfield Primary - Booked - Shadowing Winner

Whitehill Juniors - Shadowing Winners - Jelly Boots Smelly Boots

Whitehill Junior School - Shadowing Winner - Jelly Boots, Smelly Boots

St Thomas of Canterbury - Shadowing Winners - Zim Zam Zoom by James Carter

St Thomas of Canterbury - Shadowing Winners - Zim Zam Zoom by James Carter

Alexandra Junior School - Shadowing Winners - Wonderland: AliceInPoetry Ed Michaela Morgan

Alexandra Juniors - Wonderland: Alice in Poetry - Shadowing Winners


Benedict Primary - Moon Juice - Shadowing Winner